General introduction

| UNIL Research Policy | The people involved | Finance | Evaluating research | Valorizing research
 

The University of Lausanne has more than 190 teaching and research units working in fields as diverse as genomics, aesthetics of cinema, environmental law and criminalistics.

 

UNIL Research Policy

Promoting research, supporting the development of research and encouraging an international, interdisciplinary approach are the three key strands of the University of Lausanne’s research policy:

Promoting research

This is an essential part of the process of securing funding that complies with Swiss and European legislation, to guarantee the authenticity, integrity and reliability of research results. Transparency in the way data are stored and managed helps to increase the visibility and impact of research and promotes the interests of both researchers and their institutions. Promoting open access and open data is an essential part of the policy.

Supporting the development of research in all areas, including its international dimension

UNIL invests heavily in infrastructure and facilities to ensure its research remains at the highest level. It is committed to further improvements in its internal research support network, to encourage all faculties to produce and monitor research projects and encourage applications for funding (SNSF, H2020). UNIL researchers must have the opportunity for continuous improvement by pitting themselves against the world’s leading groups and facing the most demanding expert committees. Securing external funding is part of the process.

Developing interdisciplinarity

Cutting-edge research needs specialists but it is also a question of breaking down barriers, particularly between the human and social sciences, life sciences and environmental sciences. UNIL is committed to promoting interdisciplinary synergies in research (through funding interdisciplinary projects and selected post-docs, support for preparing Sinergia-type applications or incorporating this approach into assessing researchers) as well as in teaching. It aims to embed a culture of interdisciplinarity at all levels, including among students, to allow its young graduates to take an integrated view of the multiple technical and societal issues we face.

Find out more (in french):

The UNIL Charter

Progress reports

TOP ^

The people involved

Behind the doors of UNIL institutes, laboratories and libraries, about 3000 researchers, including 580 professors, work day after day on research projects of national and international significance. The UNIL is a human university, its wealth composed above all by its individual parts.

Finance

Research at UNIL is financed from multiple sources – public authorities, foundations, institutions and industries. In 2017, UNIL received 103.2 millions Swiss Frs from the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the main institution promoting scientific research in Switzerland.

Evaluating research

To assess the impact and quality of research, statisticians count the number of times a scientific article is cited in other publications.

Position of UNIL in international rankings

TOP ^

Valorizing research

The missions of an academic institution are the acquisition of knowledge and the dissemination or transfer of knowledge. Knowledge is disseminated or transferred in particular through the transfer of technologies. The latter, beginning with the protection of intellectual property, is an integral part of the strategy of academic institutions.

Follow us:          

Researchers’ stories

Histoires de chouettes Histoires autour d'Astérix Histoires autour de Van Gogh

Stories of owls, digital traces, viruses, squirrels, Tibet, Van Gogh, Bonemine, and more...

Allez Savoir! (in french)

Research films

Living Knowledge - Research at UNIL Film

Living Knowledge - UNIL Research Film

European Research at UNIL - film

View different films produced at the University of Lausanne illustrating research activities.

UNIL films (in french)

Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 26 15

Présentation générale

| La politique de la recherche à l'UNIL | Les protagonistes | Finance | Evaluer la recherche | Valoriser la recherche
 

L'Université de Lausanne compte plus de 190 unités d'enseignement et de recherche oeuvrant dans des domaines aussi divers que la génomique, l'esthétique du cinéma, le droit de l'environnement ou la criminalistique.

 

La politique de la recherche à l'UNIL

Valorisation de la recherche, soutien du développement de la recherche, également dans sa dimension internationale et interdisciplinarité sont les trois axes forts de la politque de la recherche de l'Université de Lausanne:

Valoriser la recherche

Il s'agit d'une démarche essentielle pour obtenir des financements en accord avec les législations suisse et européenne, pour garantir l'authenticité, l'intégrité et la fiabilité des résultats de recherche. La transparence par le stockage et la gestion des données permet d'augmenter la visibilité et l'impact des recherches, valorsant ainsi les chercheuses-chercheurs et leurs institutions. Cette politique passe par la promotion de l'open access et de l'open data.

Soutenir le développement de la recherche dans tous les domaines et dans sa dimension internationale

L'UNIL investit fortement dans les infrastructures et l'instrumentation pour maintenir sa recherche au plus haut niveau. Elle souhaite encore améliorer son réseau interne de soutien à la recherche en vue de favoriser dans toutes les facultés la rédaction et le suivi de projets de recherche et d'encourager la soumission de requêtes (FNS, H2020). Les chercheuses-chercheurs de l'UNIL doivent avoir cette occasion de s'améliorer constamment en se confrontant aux meilleurs groupes mondiaux et aux comités d'experts les plus exigeants. La recherche de fonds externes fait partie de cette démarche.

Développer l'interdisciplinarité

La recherche de pointe exige des spécialistes mais doit aussi décloisonner les savoirs, notamment entre sciences humaines et sociales, sciences de la vie et sciences de l'environnement. L'UNIL veut promouvoir les synergies interdisciplinaires dans la recherche (par le financement de projets interdisciplinaires et de postdocs sélectionnés, le soutien à la préparation de requêtes de type Sinergia ou encore la prise en compte de cette approche dans l'évaluation des chercheuses-chercheurs), ainsi que dans l'enseignement. Afin de permettre à ses jeunes diplômées et diplômés d'adopter une vision intégrée face aux multiples enjeux techniques et sociétaux actuels, l'UNIL entend distiller cette culture de l'interdisciplinarité à tous les niveaux, y compris chez ses étudiantes et ses étudiants.

Les protagonistes

Au sein des instituts, laboratoires et bibliothèques, environ 3000 chercheuses et chercheurs, dont 580 professeur·e·s, travaillent chaque jour sur des projets de recherche de portée nationale ou internationale. L'UNIL est une université humaine, riche surtout des individualités qui la composent.

Finance

La recherche à l'UNIL est financée par de multiples acteurs - collectivités publiques, fondations, institutions et industries. En 2017, les subsides octroyés à l'UNIL par le Fonds national suisse (FNS), principale institution d'encouragement de la recherche scientifique en Suisse. s'élève à 103.2 millions de francs.

Evaluer la recherche

Pour évaluer l'impact et la qualité de la recherche, des statisticiens décomptent le nombre de fois qu'un article scientifique est cité dans d'autres publications.

Position de l'UNIL dans les classements internationaux

TOP ^

Valoriser la recherche

Les missions d'une institution académique sont l’acquisition de savoir et la diffusion ou le transfert de connaissance. La diffusion ou le transfert de connaissance se fait notamment par le transfert de technologies. Celui-ci, commençant par la protection de la propriété intellectuelle, est une partie intégrante de la stratégie des institutions académiques.

Suivez nous:            

Histoires de chercheurs

Histoires de chouettes Histoires autour d'Astérix Histoires autour de Van Gogh

Histoires de chouettes, d'empreintes digitales, de virus, d'écureuils, du Tibet, de Van Gogh, de Bonemine...

Allez Savoir!

La recherche en images

Le savoir vivant - Film sur la Recherche UNIL

Le savoir vivant - film

La recherche européenne à l'UNIL - film

Visionnez les différents films produits à l'Université de Lausanne et présentant ses activités de recherche.

Les films de l'UNIL

Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 11 11
Fax +41 21 692 26 15