Issues

| Gender equality at universities | Sexual orientation and gender identity | Other equality issues at university
 

The University does not tolerate any form of discrimination, including on the grounds of sex, gender identity or sexual orientation, social, national or ethnic origin, age or living with a disability.

The University Rectorate takes measures to achieve the principle of equality and, to do so, relies on the Equal Opportunities Office and the Gender Equality Commission.

Gender equality at universities

In the late 1990s, the political and university authorities began to be concerned at the small proportion of women (7%) on university teaching staff. The measures introduced in 2000 – driven by the federal “Equality of Opportunities” program – produced positive results.

Today, women are well represented in universities, particularly within the student body, and administrative and technical personnel. But the number of women falls sharply at higher levels, particularly within academic hierarchies. This vertical segregation is found across the board, in Swiss, European and US universities. At UNIL, in 2019, women made up 51.5% of graduate assistants but just 22.1% of full professors.

At the same time, there is also horizontal segmentation, i.e. unequal representation of men and women across the different disciplines. In 2019, for example, women made up 53.3% of academic staff in the Faculty of Arts (all levels of seniority combined) but just 32% in the Faculty of Business and Economics.

There has certainly been progress in recent years but it is still too slow, which is why it is essential to pursue measures to promote equality at the university.

Sexual orientation and gender identity

Respect is a fundamental value of our university. UNIL wishes to promote a healthy, inclusive and non-discriminatory working and study climate, allowing each member of the university community to feel respected, to develop and to mobilize their skills to ensure the success of their study, research and/or professional projects. Homophobia and transphobia are not tolerated.

The Equal Opportunities Office supports actions aimed at reducing inequalities, particularly those related to gender identity or emotional and sexual orientation. It is available to UNIL services, faculties and associations to support measures and projects aimed at preventing discrimination and raising awareness of the issue in the academic world. It can also offer support to persons who consider themselves to be victims of discrimination.

See

Other equality issues at university

Equal opportunities at university are not just between women and men, or linked to sexual orientation and gender identity. There are many issues at stake, such as disability, social, national, ethnic or religious origin or cultural characteristics.

UNIL is committed to creating a culture of openness and integration that draws on differences to highlight their benefits, and to enable everyone to develop their full potential and skills. In this sense, it takes various measures in favour of diversity.

See

Read

University College London is determined to tackle racism (The Guardian)

Follow us:    

Equality monitoring at UNIL 2017 (in French)

Capture d’écran 2019-03-11 à 11.13.08.png

 

To listen

Pourquoi si peu de femmes profs d'université? (Tribu, RTS La 1ère, 16.03.2017)

Enjeux

| Egalité entre femmes et hommes à l'université | Orientation sexuelle et identité de genre | Autres enjeux de l'égalité à l'université
 

L’Université ne tolère aucune forme de discrimination, notamment à raison du sexe, de l’identité de genre ou de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’origine sociale, nationale ou ethnique, de l’âge ou du fait de vivre en situation de handicap.

 

La Direction de l’Université prend des mesures visant à concrétiser dans les faits le principe d’égalité. Pour atteindre ses objectifs, elle s'appuie sur le Bureau de l’égalité et la Commission consultative de l’égalité.

 

Egalité entre femmes et hommes à l'université

À la fin des années 1990, les autorités politiques et universitaires ont commencé à s’inquiéter du faible taux de femmes au sein du corps professoral (7%). Les mesures engagées dès 2000 – sur l’impulsion du Programme fédéral «Egalité des chances» – ont donné des résultats positifs.

Aujourd’hui, les femmes sont largement présentes dans les universités, en particulier au sein du corps estudiantin et du personnel administratif et technique. Mais leur nombre diminue fortement au cours de l’ascension professionnelle, en particulier dans les hiérarchies académiques. Ce constat de ségrégation verticale vaut pour les universités tant suisses qu’européennes et américaines. A l’UNIL, en 2019, les femmes composaient 51.5% des assistant·e·s diplômé·e·s, mais seulement 22.1% des professeur·e·s ordinaires.

À ce phénomène s’ajoute celui de ségrégation horizontale, à savoir l’inégale représentation des hommes et des femmes dans les différentes disciplines. Ainsi, en 2019, on comptait 53.3% de femmes au sein du personnel académique de la Faculté des Lettres (tous degrés hiérarchiques confondus) et seulement 32% en Faculté des HEC.

La progression certaine, mais trop lente des dernières années le montre: il est essentiel de poursuivre les mesures de promotion de l’égalité à l’université.

Orientation sexuelle et identité de genre

Le respect est une valeur fondamentale de notre université. L’UNIL souhaite promouvoir un climat de travail et d’études sain, inclusif et non discriminatoire, permettant à chaque membre de la communauté universitaire de se sentir respecté·e, de s’épanouir et de mobiliser ses compétences pour assurer au mieux la réussite de ses projets d’études, de recherche et/ou professionnels. L’homophobie et la transphobie ne sont pas tolérées.

 

Le Bureau de l'égalité soutient des actions visant à réduire les inégalités, notamment celles liées à l’identité de genre ou à l’orientation affective et sexuelle. Il est à disposition des services, des facultés et des associations de l'UNIL pour accompagner des mesures et des projets cherchant à prévenir les discriminations et à sensibiliser le milieu universitaire à cette question. Il peut en outre offrir son soutien à toute personne qui s’estime victime de discrimination.

Consulter

Autres enjeux de l'égalité à l'université

L’égalité des chances à l'université, ce n’est pas seulement celle entre femmes et hommes, ni celle liée à l'orientation sexuelle ou à l'identité de genre. Les enjeux sont multiples: ils concernent par exemple les situations de handicap, l’origine sociale, nationale, ethnique ou religieuse, ou encore les caractéristiques culturelles.

L’UNIL s’engage à créer une culture de l’ouverture et de l’intégration qui s’appuie sur les différences pour en souligner les avantages, et à permettre à chacun·e de développer pleinement son potentiel et ses compétences. Dans ce sens, elle prend différentes mesures en faveur de la diversité.


Consulter

Lire

Suivez nous:    

Monitoring de l'égalité à l'UNIL 2017

Capture d’écran 2019-03-11 à 11.13.08.png

À écouter

Pourquoi si peu de femmes profs d'université? (Tribu, RTS La 1ère, 16.03.2017)

Partagez: