Program content MScF

Study plan and regulations

Study plan
MScF official study plan 2019-2020  (123 Ko)
MScF official study plan 2018-2019  (122 Ko)
MScF official study plan 2017-2018  (156 Ko)
MScF_4.1  (56 Ko)
MScF_4.2_Corporate  (13 Ko)
MScF_4.2_Fin_Datascience  (13 Ko)
MScF_4.2_Risk  (13 Ko)
MScF_5.1_Corporate  (45 Ko)
MScF_5.1_Fin_Datascience  (12 Ko)
MScF_5.1_Risk  (15 Ko)
MScF part-time program  (111 Ko)

Program content

The MScF is organized along three orientations: Asset and Risk Management, Corporate Finance, and Financial Entrepreneurship and Data Science. The orientation will figure on the diploma.

The MScF program includes a total of four semesters. The first three modules comprise a collection of compulsory and elective courses. During the third semester, students can ask to participate in an exchange program in another university. The fourth is entirely dedicated to the Master thesis.


Module 1

All students must attend a set of five compulsory courses (no waivers possible) whose aim is to harmonize participants' knowledge. Some courses such as Data Science for Finance and Mathematics for Economics and Finance are of quantitative nature, whereas Corporate Finance, Financial Accounting, and Investments start from the first day on to provide practice oriented skills. The module ends with a series of demanding tests ensuring that students who pursue the Master will have the level of knowledge required to complete the program successfully.


Module 2 and 3

Module 2 comprises general compulsory courses for every student, and a wide selection of optional courses.
Module 3 represents the mandatory orientation courses.
Students may change their orientation at the beginning of module 2. 


Research or internship thesis (module 4)

The last module is dedicated to the Master's thesis. The student may opt for a research thesis or an internship thesis. In either case the students must demonstrate their technical skills in a written report and their soft skills in an oral presentation of the written report. 


Work and credit allocation

The 120 ECTS credits of this Master's program are allocated as follows:

  • 90 credits awarded for the first three semesters of coursework
  • 30 credits for the Master's thesis (contingent upon the earning of the initial 90 credits)

A typical 6-credit MScF course represents 5 hours of lectures and supervised exercises per week, over a 14-week semester. Students should allow up to 4 additional hours per week per course for individual preparation and revision.

TOP ^

Class 2016-2017-2018

Program content, class 2016-2017-2018

The MScF program includes a total of four semesters. The first three comprise a collection of compulsory and elective courses. During the third semester, students can ask to participate in an exchange program in another university. The fourth is entirely dedicated to the Master thesis.


First semester

All students must attend a set of five compulsory courses (no waivers possible) whose aim is to harmonize participants' knowledge. The semester ends with a series of demanding tests ensuring that students who pursue the Master will have the level of knowledge required to complete the program successfully.


Second semester

Students acquire theoretical knowledge which is required to tackle problems of corporate finance and risk management. This semester is based on courses such as classical and alternative investments, corporate finance, empirical methods in finance, private equity, etc.


Third semester

Students acquire more practically oriented knowledge while still remaining somewhat theoretical. This will give the practical knowledge necessary to handle critical problems as they arise in an actual job. This semester is based on courses such as Advanced Corporate Finance, Asset and Liability Management, Ethics, Financial Engineering & Commodities, Credit Risk, Macro Finance, Market Microstructure, etc.


Research or internship thesis (fourth semester)

The last semester is dedicated to the Master's thesis. The student may opt for a research thesis or an internship thesis.


Work and credit allocation

The 120 ECTS credits of this Master's program are allocated as follows:

  • 90 credits awarded for the first three semesters of coursework
  • 30 credits for the Master's thesis (contingent upon the earning of the initial 90 credits)

A typical 6-credit MScF course represents 5 hours of lectures and supervised exercises per week, over a 14-week semester. Students should allow up to 4 additional hours per week per course for individual preparation and revision.

TOP ^

Timetables and courses

Information relating to timetables and study programmes may be found on the display boards of the 2nd floor (lifts) of the Internef building as well as on our web page. A network of television screens provides regular updates about timetable changes and other useful information.

Masters' timetables and courses

TOP ^

Recommended courses prior to MScF

2nd year Bachelor
Analyse économique : macroéconomie (6 credits)
Statistique et économétrie I (6 credits)
Analyse économique : microéconomie (6 credits)
Risk Management (3 credits)
Principes de finance (6 credits)
Statistiques et économétrie appliquée : introduction (3 credits)

3rd year Bachelor
Finance d'entreprise (6 credits)
Financial Markets (6 credits)
Statistique et Econométrie II (6 credits)
Mathématiques de la Finance (3 credits)

TOP ^

Exchange programs

During the third semester, students may take part in an exchange program and study at a university recognised by HEC Lausanne. A maximum of 30 ECTS credits can be acquired during the exchange.

Learn more

Preparatory courses

Candidates who are required to successfully complete a preparatory program (French command necessary):

Follow us:        
Internef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 33 00
Fax +41 21 692 33 05
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg

Programme & Enseignement MScF

Structure du programme

Le MScF est organisé selon trois orientations: Gestion d’actifs et des risques, Finance d’entreprise, Entrepreneuriat financier et science des données. Le choix d'orientation est obligatoire dès le début du Master. L'orientation figurera sur le diplôme. 

Le MScF est un programme sur quatre semestres. Les trois premiers modules sont constitués de cours obligatoires et de cours à option. Au troisième semestre, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent partir en échange dans une université partenaire. Le quatrième est entièrement dédié au mémoire de Master.


Module 1

Les étudiantes et étudiants commencent leur cursus par cinq cours obligatoires (pas d'équivalences possibles) dont le but est d'harmoniser les connaissances. Certains cours tels que Data Science for Finance et Mathematics for Economics and Finance sont de nature quantitative, tandis que Corporate Finance, Financial Accounting et Investments fournissent des compétences orientées vers la pratique. Le module se termine par une série d'examens d'un niveau élevé, de façon à assurer le niveau de connaissances requis pour achever le programme avec succès.


Module 2 et 3

Le module 2 est constitué de cours obligatoires généraux pour tous et de cours à options, à choisir parmi un large éventail. 
Le module 3 représente les cours d'orientation spécifiques obligatoires. 
Les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité de changer d'orientation au début du module 2.


Mémoire académique ou de stage (module 4)

Le dernier module est dédié à l'élaboration d'un mémoire. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent choisir entre un mémoire académique ou de stage. Dans les deux cas, les étudiants doivent démontrer leurs compétences techniques dans un rapport écrit et leurs soft skills lors d'une présentation orale du rapport écrit.


Crédits et charge de travail

Les 120 crédits ECTS de ce Master sont répartis comme suit:

  • 90 crédits pour les trois premiers modules
  • 30 crédits pour le mémoire (à condition d'avoir déjà obtenu les 90 premiers crédits)

Un cours de 6 crédits représente environ 5 heures de cours et d'exercices supervisés par semaine, durant un semestre de 14 semaines. Chaque heure de cours donne lieu à 2-3 heures de préparation et révisions.

TOP ^

Volée 2016-2017-2018

Structure du programme, volée 2016-2017-2018

Le MScF est un programme sur quatre semestres. Les trois premiers sont constitués de cours obligatoires et de cours à option. Au troisième semestre, les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent faire une demande pour partir en échange dans une université partenaire. Le quatrième est entièrement dédié au mémoire de Master.


Premier semestre

Les étudiantes et étudiants commencent leur cursus par cinq cours obligatoires (pas d'équivalences possibles) dont le but est d'harmoniser les connaissances. Le semestre se termine par une série d'examens d'un niveau élevé, de façon à assurer que celles et ceux qui poursuivront le Master auront le niveau de connaissances requis pour achever le programme avec succès.


Deuxième semestre

Les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent les connaissances théoriques nécessaires pour aborder les problématiques de finance d'entreprise et de gestion des risques. Les cours se concentrent notamment sur les investissements classiques et alternatifs, la finance d'entreprise, les méthodes empiriques en finance, la private equity, etc.


Troisième semestre

Les étudiantes et étudiants acquièrent des connaissances davantage orientées vers la pratique tout en restant théoriques. Ils pourront ainsi aborder de manière critique et sereine les problèmes rencontrés dans le monde professionnel. Les cours s'articulent notamment autour de matières comme la finance d'entreprise appliquée, la gestion des actifs-passifs bancaires, l'éthique, l'ingénierie financière et les matières premières, les risques de crédit, la finance macroéconomique, la microstructure des marchés, etc.


Mémoire académique ou de stage (quatrième semestre)

Le dernier semestre est dédié à l'élaboration d'un mémoire. Les étudiantes et étudiants peuvent choisir entre un mémoire académique ou de stage.


Crédits et charge de travail

Les 120 crédits ECTS de ce Master sont répartis comme suit:

  • 90 crédits pour les trois premiers semestres
  • 30 crédits pour le mémoire (à condition d'avoir déjà obtenu les 90 premiers crédits)

Un cours de 6 crédits représente environ 5 heures de cours et d'exercices supervisés par semaine, durant un semestre de 14 semaines. Chaque heure de cours donne lieu à 2-3 heures de préparation et révisions.

TOP ^

Cours et horaires

Site des cours et horaires de Master

Les informations en matière d'horaires figurent également sur les panneaux d'affichage du bâtiment Internef, au 2e étage. Un système d'écrans télévisés informe régulièrement sur les éventuels changements d'horaires et autres informations utiles.

TOP ^

Cours de Bachelor HEC Lausanne recommandés pour le MScF

2e année
Analyse économique : macroéconomie (6 crédits)
Statistique et économétrie I (6 crédits)
Analyse économique : microéconomie (6 crédits)
Risk Management (3 crédits)
Principes de finance (6 crédits)
Statistiques et économétrie appliquée : introduction (3 crédits)

3e année
Finance d'entreprise (6 crédits)
Financial Markets (6 crédits)
Statistique et Econométrie II (6 crédits)
Mathématiques de la Finance (3 crédits)

TOP ^

Programmes d'échange

Durant le troisième semestre, les étudiantes et étudiants ont la possibilité d'effectuer un séjour en mobilité dans une université reconnue par HEC Lausanne. Un maximum de 30 crédits ECTS pourra être acquis durant l'échange.

Plus d'informations

Programme QTEM

QTEM est un réseau international destiné aux meilleurs étudiant·e·s, aux universités et aux sociétés internationales. Ce programme s’appuie sur l'acquisition de compétences analytiques et quantitatives appliquées au management dans un contexte international. 

En savoir plus

Cours préparatoires

Candidat·e·s dont l'admission est soumise à la réussite d'un programme de mise à niveau (maîtrise du français requise):

Suivez nous:        
Partagez:
Internef - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 33 00
Fax +41 21 692 33 05
efmd-equis-accredited-logo.svg amba-accredited-logo.svg bsis-logo.svg qtem-logo.svg