Organization & description

Organize your files and folders

Organizing your files and folders - electronic or paper - is a time-consuming activity but, in the end, it proves to be a considerable help: it makes it easier and faster to identify, locate, retrieve or even recover your data.

A good organization consists in particular of :

Structure your folders hierarchically (classification tree)
Use clear, consistent and most meaningful naming conventions and rules

Ideally, these rules should be defined as soon as possible in the life of the project, before creating too many files and folders. To avoid being overwhelmed, remember to sort, arrange or reorganize them regularly !

When you are conducting a research project as part of a team, it is essential that the whole group agree on the structure of folders and the name of the files to be adopted. This can be recorded and documented to allow everyone to access and find stored and shared data via the same collaborative workspace.

Folder and file tree structure

Organizing your files and folders is a task that should be thought out and carried out at the very beginning of the research project. It is important to choose a clear, consistent and common organization for the different data sets.

Naming rules

Precise naming rules are necessary to locate and identify the files you are looking for more easily and quickly. They allow them to be classified, avoid problems when transferring or sharing files, and facilitate their storage in the medium and long term.

For this reason, it is strongly recommended to adopt a single logic and to choose unique and meaningful names. Ideally, you should not need to open a document to know what it is !

Such rules are all the more important when conducting a research project within a team, they promote practical harmonization among all !

What is metadata and what is it used for ?

Literally "data on data", metadata is data used to define or describe another data regardless of its medium. Metadata can be used to identify, inform or reuse data.

Each set of data collected or created should be accompanied by comprehensive metadata, respecting the standards, rules and conventions of a discipline, and also machine readable.

While data custodians and, increasingly, researchers are aware that good metadata is essential for accessing and reusing research data, it is complex to determine precisely what metadata to capture. It should be kept in mind that only quality metadata supports the FAIR data principles.

Minimum set of metadata

An international consortium of libraries and services specializing in information sciences, DataCite has developed a metadata schema for publishing and quoting research data. In its Metadata Schema Documentation for the Publication and Citation of Research Data (Version 4.2., 2018), the minimum set of mandatory metadata to be used when describing (data sets) is as follows :

  • Identify (from the dataset)
  • Creator
  • Title
  • Publisher
  • PublicationYear
  • ResourceType

Some other metadata are optional :

  • Subject
  • Contributor
  • Date
  • RelatedIdentifier
  • Description
  • GeoLocation

An example of a data set description (xml format) is available : Metadata Example for a simple dataset.

Disciplinary metadata

Many disciplines have developed specific metadata standards. A complete list is available on the Digital Curation Center website and on the FAIRsharing.org website

Data Documentation Initiative (DDI)

This initiative is an international standard for describing data produced in the social, behavioural, economic and health sciences. DDI standards allow data to be documented, discovered and interoperable. The specifications and tools are available on the DDI website.

Metadata Standards Directory Working Group

The Metadata Standards Inventory Working Group is supported by individuals and organizations involved in the development, implementation and use of metadata for scientific data. The overarching objective is to develop an open and collaborative repository of metadata standards for scientific data to address data infrastructure and organization challenges.

Follow us:    

File naming rules

Naming rules (Unil)

Other examples :

Data organization (example of UNIGE's library)

File Naming Guidelines (University of British Columbia)

TILS Document Naming Convention (Queensland University of Technology)

Tools to rename your files

How to quote your data ?

Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 20 81

Organisation & description

Organiser ses fichiers et dossiers

Organiser ses fichiers et dossiers – électroniques ou papier – est une activité qui prend du temps mais qui, au final, se révèle être une aide considérable : elle permet d’identifier, localiser, retrouver ou encore récupérer vos données plus facilement et rapidement.

Une bonne organisation consiste notamment à :

  • Structurer hiérarchiquement ses dossiers (arborescence classificatoire)
  • Utiliser des conventions et règles de nommage claires, cohérentes et les plus significatives possible

Dans l’idéal, ces règles devraient être définies le plus tôt possible dans la vie du projet, avant d’avoir créé un nombre trop important de fichiers et dossiers. Pour éviter d’être submergé·e, pensez à les trier, ranger ou réorganiser régulièrement !

Lorsque vous menez un projet de recherche au sein d’une équipe, il est essentiel que l’ensemble du groupe se mette d’accord sur la structure des dossiers et le nommage des fichiers à adopter. Ceci peut être consigné et documenté pour permettre à toutes et tous d’accéder et de trouver des données stockées et partagées via un même espace de travail collaboratif.

Arborescence des dossiers et fichiers

Organiser ses fichiers et dossiers est une tâche qui devrait être pensée et réalisée au tout début du projet de recherche. Il est important de choisir une organisation claire, cohérente et commune aux différents sets de données.

Règles de nommage

Des règles de nommage précises sont nécessaires pour repérer et identifier plus facilement et rapidement les fichiers recherchés. Elles permettent leur classification, évitent les problèmes lors du transfert ou partage de fichiers, facilitent leur conservation à moyen et long terme.

C’est pourquoi il est vivement recommandé d’adopter une seule et même logique et de choisir des noms uniques et significatifs. Dans l’idéal, l’on ne devrait pas avoir besoin d’ouvrir un document pour savoir de quoi il s’agit !

De telles règles s’avèrent d’autant plus importantes lorsque l’on mène un projet de recherche au sein d’une équipe, elles favorisent l’harmonisation pratiques entre toutes et tous !

Que sont les métadonnées et à quoi servent-elles ?

Littéralement "donnée sur la donnée", une métadonnée est une donnée servant à définir ou décrire une autre donnée quel que soit son support.

Les métadonnées documentent la façon dont les données ont été générées, sous quelle licence et comment elles peuvent être réutilisées. Elles fournissent également le contexte pour une interprétation appropriée par les autres chercheurs.

Chaque set de données collecté ou créé devrait être accompagné de métadonnées exhaustives, respectant les standards, règles et conventions d'une discipline, et également lisibles par une machine.

Bien que les responsables de données et, de plus en plus, les chercheur·es sachent que de bonnes métadonnées sont essentielles à l'accès aux données de recherche et à leur réutilisation, il peut être complexe de déterminer précisément quelles métadonnées saisir. Il convient de garder à l'esprit que seules des métadonnées de qualité soutiennent les principes FAIR.

Set minimal de métadonnées

Consortium international de bibliothèques et services spécialisés dans les sciences de l'information, DataCite a développé un schéma de métadonnées pour la publication et la citation des données de recherche. Dans son Metadata Schema Documentation for the Publication and Citation of Research Data (Version 4.2., 2018), le set minimal de métadonnées obligatoires à utiliser, lors de la description de (sets de) données, est le suivant :

  • Identifier (of the dataset)
  • Creator
  • Title
  • Publisher
  • PublicationYear
  • RessourceType

Certaines autres métadonnées sont optionnelles :

  • Subject
  • Contributor
  • Date
  • RelatedIdentifier
  • Description
  • GeoLocation

Un exemple de description d'un set de données (format xml) est disponible : Metadata Example for a simple dataset.

Métadonnées disciplinaires

De nombreuses disciplines ont développé des standards spécifiques de métadonnées. Une liste complète est disponible sur le site du Digital Curation Center et sur le site FAIRsharing.org.

Data Documentation Initiative (DDI)

Cette initiative est un standard international pour la description de données produites dans les sciences sociales, comportementales, économiques et de la santé. Les standards DDI permettent aux données d'être documentées, découvertes ainsi qu’interopérables. Les spécifications et les outils sont disponible sur le site du DDI.

Metadata Standards Directory Working Group

Le groupe de travail sur le répertoire des normes de métadonnées est appuyé par des personnes et des organisations qui participent à l'élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à l'utilisation des métadonnées pour les données scientifiques. L'objectif primordial est d'élaborer un répertoire ouvert et collaboratif de normes de métadonnées applicables aux données scientifiques, afin de relever les défis en matière d'infrastructure et d'organisation des données.

 

Suivez nous:    

Outils pour renommer ses fichiers

Outils de citation des données

http://citation.crosscite.org/ vous aide à formater la citation des données que vous utilisées.

Partagez:
Unicentre - CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 20 81