Go to: content | top | bottom | search
EN    FR  
You are hereUNIL > Institute of Earth Sciences > Laboratories > Laser ablation-ICP-MS

Laser ablation-ICP-MS

Mass-spectrometry with inductively coupled plasma ion source is widely applied for the determination of elemental composition and isotope ratios of liquid and solid samples in geological, chemical, semiconductor and other technical sciences. It is a very flexible technique allowing to analyse the concentration of most elements of the periodic table down to a (sub)ppt-level in liquid samples and down to a (sub)ppb level in solid samples. It also allows for a high sample throughput and usually requires little sample preparation compared to the alternative techniques, such as TIMS or SIMS. Our laboratory is equipped with two ICP-MS facilities:

Quadrupole spectrometer Agilent 7700

The quadrupole spectrometer Agilent 7700 is interfaced to a GeoLas 200M ArF excimer ablation system (solid samples) or used alone (liquid samples). It is used in applications that do not require the lowest possible detection limit. These applications include the laser ablation analysis of lithium tetraborate glass discs and minerals, as well as the analysis of a wide variety of natural solutions and dissolved solid samples (mine tails, natural and underground waters, carbonates).


Sector-field spectrometer Element XR

The sector-field spectrometer Element XR is interfaced to a NewWave UP-193 ArF excimer ablation system (solid samples) or used alone (liquid samples). It is used for the analysis of very low element concentrations in minerals like olivine, garnet, orthopyroxene, mica and feldspars, and particularly for the U-Pb dating of zircons. It is also episodically used for the analysis of low element concentrations in solutions.

Our laboratory has a wide experience in the analysis of geological samples and also carries out analyses for chemical and technical research institutions, as well as for commercial entities. More information regarding the lab facilities and rules, sample preparation, bookings and fees can be found on the Centre for Advanced Surface Analysis (CASA) website.



Lab: 1207
Tel: +41 21 692 44 57

Contact: Alexey Ulianov
+41 21 692 44 39

GĂ©opolis - CH-1015 Lausanne  - Switzerland  -  Tel. +41 21 692 43 06  -  Fax +41 21 692 43 05
Swiss University

Spectrométrie de masse ICP à ablation laser

La spectrométrie de masse ICP à ablation laser est largement appliquée pour la détermination de la composition élémentaire et des ratios isotopiques d'échantillons liquides et solides dans les sciences géologiques, chimiques, des semi-conducteurs et autres sciences techniques. C'est une technique très flexible qui permet d'analyser la concentration de la plupart des éléments du tableau périodique jusqu'à un niveau de (sous-)ppt dans les échantillons liquides et jusqu'à un niveau de (sous-)ppb dans les échantillons solides. Elle permet également un grand débit d'échantillons et nécessite généralement une préparation réduite des échantillons par rapport aux autres techniques, telles que le TIMS ou le SIMS.

Pour un aperçu plus détaillé de la technique ICP-MS, veuillez consulter le fichier pdf suivant (en anglais)

     file_type_pdf_icon_130274.png

 

Notre laboratoire est équipé de deux installations ICP-MS:

Quadrupole spectrometer Agilent 7700

Le quadrupole spectrometer Agilent 7700 est interfacé à un système d'ablation par excimère ArF NewWave UP-193 (échantillons solides) ou utilisé seul (échantillons liquides). Il est utilisé dans des applications qui ne nécessitent pas la limite de détection la plus basse possible. Ces applications comprennent l'analyse par ablation laser de disques de verre et de minéraux en tétraborate de lithium, ainsi que l'analyse d'une grande variété de solutions naturelles et d'échantillons solides dissous (queues de mine, eaux naturelles et souterraines, carbonates).

Agilent7700x_UP193FX.JPG

Sector-field spectrometer Element XR

Le sector-field spectrometer Element XR est interfacé à un système d'ablation par excimère ArF RESOlution 193 de l'ASI (Australian Scientific Instruments) avec une cellule d'ablation à deux volumes S155 (échantillons solides) ou utilisé seul (échantillons liquides). Il est utilisé pour l'analyse de concentrations d'éléments ultra-faibles dans des minéraux comme l'olivine, le grenat, l'orthopyroxène, le mica et les feldspaths, et en particulier pour la datation U-Pb des zircons et de la titanite. Il est également utilisé sporadiquement pour l'analyse des faibles concentrations d'éléments dans les solutions.

ElementXR_Resolution.JPG

Le labo en images

Galerie

Laboratoire de spectrométrie de masse ICP à ablation laser

SAN-D105_Gar-A-1.jpg

Labo : 1207
Tél : +41 21 692 44 57

Responsable de laboratoire :

Prof. Othmar Müntener
telefono-01.jpg+41 21 692 43 47 | mail-01.jpg

 

Personne à contacter :

Dr. Alexey Ulianov
telefono-01.jpg+41 21 692 44 39 | mail-01.jpg
Partagez: