The UNIL PhD Career Survey

Introduction | Surveys | Overview of the survey's results
 

Introduction

UNIL's objective is to better understand the future of its doctorate holders in order to ensure the quality of doctoral training and to highlight the range of possible career paths. To meet this goal, the Graduate Campus has established annual surveys of UNIL doctorate holders.

The objectives of the annual survey centre on two areas of reflection and action by the Graduate Campus:

  1. The quality of the training of doctoral students during their doctorate in terms of preparation for their future professional paths;
  2. Raising awareness (among early career researchers and supervisors) of the diversity of post-doctoral career options and promoting the value of the doctorate among employers.

These issues are given particular attention by organisations at Swiss, European and international level, of which the Graduate Campus is part.

The annual survey contributes to the mission of the Graduate Campus to accompany and support doctoral and post-doctoral researchers in their professional development, and to support the University in its efforts to raise awareness, both internally and externally, of the professional potential of the next generation of researchers trained by the University.

The annual survey thus forms the basis of the Graduate Campus' response to points 2.1.2 and 4.1.1 of the UNIL Rectorate’s 2021-2026 Statement of Intent.

Surveys

2019+3

The 2019+3 annual survey is launched!

We're looking forward to receiving your responses. If you defended your doctorate at UNIL in 2019, please check your email for further details. If you would like to participate but haven't received an email, please contact us.

2018+3

In November 2021, the Graduate Campus, with the support of FORS, launched the first annual survey on the professional situation of UNIL PhDs three years after the public defence.

This report presents a descriptive analysis of the 2018+3 survey results. It provides a portrait of the 2018 cohort of UNIL doctorate holders three years after the public defense, in terms of their current professional situation, the relevance of the doctorate in their professional activity, and their expectations and satisfaction with their professional life after the doctorate.

The report also suggests avenues of reflection for future actions to be undertaken, by the Graduate Campus and in collaboration with other UNIL units, in connection with the UNIL 2021-2026 Statement of Intent.

Key Figures

Of the 290 doctoral graduates who defended in 2018 (PhD, MD-PhD or MD) in one of the seven UNIL faculties, 255 were contacted and 103 participated in the survey. The participation rate is thus 40%.

The sample of participants is composed of 46% women and 56% men. Almost half (48%) of the participants obtained their doctorate in FBM, 15% in SSP, 15% in GSE, 10% in HEC, 8% in Lettres, 5% in FDCA and 1% in FTSR.

  • Unemployment rate similar to that of Switzerland: At the time of the survey, 92% of the participants were gainfully employed, while 3% of the participants responded that they were registered as unemployed.
  • A diversity of employment sectors: The public sector and the higher education sector each employ about one third of professionally active participants (34% and 32% respectively), the private sector slightly less (27%) and the private non-profit sector 7%.
  • The academic path: Nearly 60% of professionally active participants are pursuing an academic career (entirely or in parallel with other activities).
  • Fixed-term contracts in academic positions: Nearly three-quarters (73%) of those employed in the higher education sector are employed on a fixed-term contract.
  • Job satisfaction: 81% of participants who are currently working are fully or somewhat satisfied with their current role.
  • Regionally anchored: Nearly three-quarters (74%) of professionally active participants work in Switzerland and 15% work in Europe.
  • Continuing in the same field: Almost half (47%) of the professionally active participants claim to be working in the same field as the one in which they obtained their doctorate, and 39% say they are in a similar or broader field.
  • The importance of transversal skills: 64% of the professionally active participants said that they are taking advantage of the transversal skills acquired during their doctorate.

Perspectives

Awareness and promotion (Statement of Intent 2.1.2)

The strong regional roots of the participants show the importance of the local economic fabric in the professional integration of doctorate holders. It reminds us also of the importance of developing initiatives to highlight these skills with employers in the region and facilitate the efforts of doctorate holders during their professional transition towards new employment sectors.

Career preparation (Statement of Intent 4.1.1)

The important mobilisation of transversal skills in the current role, including compared to theoretical and technical skills, show the importance of a doctoral training that takes into account and encourages the development of this type of skills.

Further development of the annual UNIL + 3 doctoral survey

This first annual survey allows us to identify different lines of analysis and action for the future editions of the survey. Furthermore, this survey collected new contacts of doctorate holders interested in participating in initiatives organised by the Graduate Campus (webinars and/or doctoral portraits presented on our website

Finally, in the medium and longer term, the annual survey will provide material with which to develop initiatives to raise awareness and inform the various audiences concerned (early career researchers, supervisors and employers).

The executive summary is available below. To receive the full report, please contact the Graduate Campus.

2007-2017

From January 2018 to September 2019, the University of Lausanne’s Graduate Campus conducted a survey of the 2448 people who received a doctoral degree between 2007 and 2017. The first phase of the survey, using online social networks and search engines, allowed us to find the contact details of 1265 of our target population. Of those, we were able to interview 459 people.

Overall, we can observe a wide variety of career paths, with differences between the faculties of origin. The large majority of those we interviewed felt that the doctorate had been a positive experience, a personal challenge accomplished, and in the long term, a distinction that has had a real effect on their career. If they could turn back time, they say they’d do it all again!

The interactive table below provides a résumé from different perspectives of the information collected during the first phase of the survey. Other qualitative and quantitative results will be published in a more extensive report.

The full report is available here.

Overview of the survey's results

Follow us:  
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15

Enquête Devenir Docteur·e·s UNIL

Introduction | Enquêtes | Tableau synthétique 2007-2017
 

Introduction

L'UNIL a pour objectif de mieux connaître l'avenir de ses docteur·es afin d'assurer la qualité de la formation doctorale et de mettre en évidence l'éventail des parcours professionnels possibles. Dans ce but, le Campus Graduate a mis en place des enquêtes annuelles auprès des docteur·es de l'UNIL.

Les objectifs de l’enquête annuelle s’articulent autour de deux axes de réflexions et d’actions du Graduate Campus: 

  1. La qualité de la formation des docteur·es pendant leur thèse en termes de préparation à leurs carrières professionnelles à venir ;
  2. La sensibilisation (des jeunes chercheur·es et des superviseur·es) à la diversité des options de carrière après le doctorat ainsi que la valorisation du doctorat auprès des employeur·es.

Ces enjeux font l'objet d'une attention particulière par les instutions académiques au niveau suisse, européen et international, dont fait partie le Graduate Campus.

L’enquête annuelle contribue ainsi à la mission du Graduate Campus d’accompagner et de soutenir les chercheur·es de niveau doctoral et postdoctoral dans leur développement professionnel, et de soutenir l’Université dans ses démarches de sensibilisation, à l’interne et à l’externe, quant au potentiel professionnel des membres de la relève formées en son sein.

L’enquête annuelle se situe ainsi à la base de la réponse du Graduate Campus aux points 2.1.2 et 4.1.1 du plan d’intention 2021-2026 de la Direction de l’UNIL.

Enquêtes

2019+3

L'enquête annuelle 2019+3 est lancée !

Nous sommes impatients de recevoir vos réponses. Si vous avez soutenu votre doctorat à l'UNIL en 2019, veuillez vérifier votre courriel pour plus de détails. Si vous souhaitez participer mais n'avez pas reçu d'email, veuillez nous contacter.

2018+3

Le Graduate Campus a lancé en novembre 2021, avec le soutien de FORS, la première Enquête annuelle sur le devenir professionnel des docteur·es UNIL trois ans après la thèse. 

Ce rapport présente une analyse descriptive des résultats de l’enquête 2018+3. Il brosse un portrait de la cohorte 2018 des docteur·es UNIL trois ans après l’obtention de leur titre, sous l’angle de leur situation professionnelle actuelle, de la pertinence du doctorat dans leur activité professionnelle et de leurs attentes et satisfaction à l’égard de leur vie professionnelle après le doctorat.

Ce rapport suggère également des pistes de réflexion pour des actions à entreprendre à l’avenir, par le Graduate Campus et en collaboration avec d’autres unités de l’UNIL, en lien avec le plan d’intentions UNIL 2021-2026.

Chiffres clés du rapport

Sur les 290 docteur·es ayant soutenu leur doctorat en 2018 (PhD, MD-PhD ou MD) dans l’une des sept facultés de l’UNIL, 255 ont pu être contactées et 103 ont participé à l’enquête. Le taux de participation s’élève ainsi à 40%.

L’échantillon des participant·es est constitué de 46% de femmes et de 56% d’hommes. Près de la moitié (48%) des participant·es ont obtenu leur doctorat en FBM, 15% en SSP, 15% en GSE, 10% en HEC, 8% en Lettres, 5% en FDCA et 1% en FTSR.

  • Un taux de chômage similaire à la situation en Suisse : Au moment de l’enquête, 92% des participant·es exerçaient une activité rémunérée, tandis que 3% des participant·es ont répondu être inscrites au chômage. 
  • Une diversité des secteurs d’emploi : Le secteur public et celui de l’enseignement supérieur emploient chacun environ un tiers des participant·es actives professionnellement (34% et respectivement 32%), le secteur privé un peu moins (27%) et le secteur privé non-lucratif 7%. 
  • La voie académique : Près de 60% des personnes actives professionnellement poursuivent (entièrement ou en parallèle avec d’autres activités) une carrière académique. 
  • Les CDD dans les postes académiques : Près de trois-quarts (73%) des personnes employées dans le secteur de l’enseignement supérieur sont engagées sur la base d’un CDD.
  • Satisfait·es de leur poste81% des participant·es actives professionnellement sont pleinement satisfaites ou plutôt satisfaites de leur poste actuel.
  • Ancré·es régionalement : Près de trois-quart (74%) des participant·es actives professionnellement travaillent en Suisse et 15% travaillent en Europe.
  • Poursuivant dans le même domaine : Près de la moitié (47%) des participant·es actives professionnellement affirme travailler dans le même domaine que celui dans lequel iels ont obtenu leur doctorat, et 39% dans un domaine similaire ou plus large.
  • L’importance des compétences transversales: 64% des participant·es disent profiter des compétences transversales acquises durant leur doctorat.

Perspectives

Sensibilisation et valorisation (Plan d’intention 2.1.2)

Le fort ancrage régional des participant·es montre l’importance du tissu économique régional dans l’insertion professionnelle des docteur·es. Cela rappelle également l’importance de développer des initiatives visant à valoriser ces compétences auprès des employeur·es de la région afin de faciliter les efforts des docteur·es lors de transitions professionnelles vers d’autres secteur d’emploi que le secteur académique.

Préparation à la carrière (Plan d’intention 4.1.1)

La mobilisation importante des compétences transversales dans l’emploi actuel, y compris comparativement aux compétences théoriques et techniques, montrent l’importance d’une formation doctorale qui prenne en compte et encourage le développement de ce type de compétences.

Développement de l’enquête annuelle Docteur·es UNIL + 3

Cette première enquête annuelle permet de dégager différents axes de réflexions et actions pour les prochaines éditions de l’enquête. Elle a notamment permis de recueillir de nouveaux contacts de docteur·es intéressées à participer aux initiatives du Graduate Campus (webinaires et/ou portraits de docteur·es présentés sur notre site).

Enfin, à moyen et plus long terme, l’enquête annuelle permettra de nourrir les réflexions afin de développer des initiatives visant à sensibiliser et informer les différents publics concernés (jeunes chercheur·es, superviseur·es et employeur·es).

Le résumé exécutif est disponible ci-dessous. Pour recevoir le rapport complet, veuillez vous adresser au Graduate Campus.

2007-2017

Entre janvier 2018 et septembre 2019, le Graduate Campus de l’Université de Lausanne a mené une recherche auprès des 2448 personnes titulaires d’un doctorat depuis 2007 jusqu'à 2017. Une première phase d’enquête au travers des réseaux sociaux et des moteurs de recherche a permis de retrouver les coordonnées de 1265 personnes. Parmi ces dernières, 459 ont pu être jointes et sondées.

De manière générale, il ressort une grande diversité de trajectoires de carrières, avec des différences entre facultés d’origine. La majorité des personnes interrogées ont témoigné que la thèse avait été globalement une bonne expérience, un défi personnel rempli, et au plus long terme une distinction qui avait eu un effet sensible sur la carrière. S’ils pouvaient revenir en arrière, ces personnes affirment vouloir refaire le même choix.

Le tableau dynamique ci-dessous synthétise les résultats sous différents angles d’analyse, des informations générales récoltées dans la première phase de l'enquête. 

Le rapport complet est disponible ici.

Tableau synthétique 2007-2017

Suivez nous:  
Partagez:
Unicentre  -  CH-1015 Lausanne
Suisse
Tél. +41 21 692 21 29
Fax +41 21 692 20 15